top of page
  • Writer's pictureMark Benson Beberino

Journey to Kuwait

Updated: Dec 30, 2019

from where it all started ..

I am twenty nine years old right now and I was exactly 21 years old when I arrived to Kuwait. When and where it all started? Let me tell you the whole story…


I graduated college on April 2010. Trying my luck searching for a job which unfortunately is very hard to find because I am a fresh graduate. Companies are not giving much opportunities to those fresh college graduates to work and prove themselves and of course to start helping their family. As a fresh graduate like me, the only goal I have is to find job to support myself and my family and at least to pay my parents their hardship during my studies. Anyway, I am working as an on-call waiter at Italianni’s Restaurant in Mall of Asia and earning a little amount of money which is not really enough because the money I am getting is only for my transportation. I am living in Dasmarinas Cavite which is two hours away from Manila via driving. My Mom is letting me use the money I get from the work and was not even able to give her anything in return. Every Sunday, I am buying a newspaper named “The Manila Bulletin” and flip the page straight to the Classified Ads section to find job whether it is local or abroad which that time, I already set my mind that I would like to work abroad because it is more easier for me to provide the needs of my family. Knowing the situation in the Philippines, I might get a job with a good salary but it may not be enough for me and for my family.


May 23, 2010, my college classmate / friend had informed me that there is one company that will have their Interview and the employer will be the one to conduct an interview on June 1 – 3, 2010.  I had made up my mind and I will be attending the said interview and try my luck. June 1, the day of interview, my friend says he might not be able to make to the interview as he do not have money to come, but i told him to do his best because it is already the opportunity that we might be waiting for so let us not waste the chance. He said that he really cant but I am already in the agency waiting for my turn to be called for an interview. Right before we start the interview, the door open and my friend arrived. I was happy. I will not be alone. I made an agreement with my friend that if we both pass and the offer salary will be 15,000 Pesos, we will take it and go. In my opinion, I will take the offer because I am so desperate to have a job plus I will take it as a stepping stone for me to start my career.


The secretary called my name and asked me to proceed to the interview room. It is a panel interview which consists of three Kuwait nationals. To make the story short, the employer says they liked me and interested to pick me as a candidate which I already agree and moved to the next room for the contract signing and getting my size of uniform where I also must leave my passport to start processing with the visa.  I wait my friend for his turn and accepts the offer as I did. We are both happy.


When I arrived home, everybody is in the Dining table for dinner. My dad asked me to join the dinner and asked me where I was the whole day. My family didn’t have any idea of my plan of working abroad. So I told my dad that I just visited one friend after work that’s why I am late and my dad says I should inform them because they are worried about me. We continue our dinner and do as we usually do on a daily basis. We watch TV and sleep late. And still, I didn’t tell my Mom and Dad about my plan. It is not about hiding them but I honestly do not know how I will start telling them. After a week, I received a call from the Agency and informed me that I must come to the office to collect my Forms, Documents and start to do the Medical as a requirement for the Visa. The next day, I left home early and told Mom that I have important thing to do in Manila and will go directly to work since my schedule at the restaurant is closing shift. My Mom prepared me breakfast but I can’t take it because I must fast before the medical. So i told my Mom that I am not hungry at all because I ate last night when everybody are sleeping and she believed me. I left home and arrived to the clinic where I must do the Medical. I finished 3pm and go to work directly.


After three weeks, I received another phone call from the Agency and informed me that I must come back to office because I need to take my papers for the final medical examination which must be under GAMCA. I left home early again and tell Mom the same story but this time, she is a little confused and suspecting that I am doing something. I told her that I am not doing anything just I need to visit a friend before going to work in 5pm. To make the story short, I had done my final medical examination but unfortunately, I had to undergo two major and important things for me to get “Fit to Work” stamp and I can get my visa and ready to go. One, I must remove three teeth and two, I must undergo an operation because I a Fistula in Anus. Three teeth has been removed and for the operation, I must think of the reason to my family which I told them that it is for my work and my Mom and Dad believed me.


For the Fistulectomy operation, my Mom and Dad bring me to a Public Hospital in General Trias Cavite for my operation. My Grandfather has a Surgeon friend working in the said Hospital and helped me to get my schedule as early as possible and  even grant us a big discount for the surgery fee. The operation has been done successfully and stayed in the Hospital for three days. During the operation, it is quite exciting journey too. On the first night of my stay, my friend Ado stay with me because my Mom is not available for me, my Dad is not home, my sister has her kids to take care of. It is sad, because to the moment that I needed them most, they are not there. I am afraid from needles. When the nurse had to give me an anti-tetanus shot and a dextrose, I am holding the hand of my friend and even created a nails mark on his arm. I got my dextrose on and proceed to my room. I cried. Not because I am afraid, but because my family is not beside me on that terrifying scenario of my life. In the room, I am with three other patients that I actually became friends with one – Edmun Prioles. His bed is beside me and we are both on the same age that’s why we get along quickly. To make the story short, my Mom and Dad and Brother only visits me on visiting hours, Ado is the one who stay with me all through out. I am very thankful with him because he was there for me and took care of me knowing that he have his work. (he took a week leave just to be with me.. sweet. lol)


I finally got my Medical Certificate and visited the Clinic to get an approval that I am already “Fit to Work” and I am able to get my visa and my flight ticket. Three days after I submitted my Medical Certificate, I received a phone call that I must visit the office to get my Passport, Visa and Ticket but I had to take my Pre-Departure Orientation Seminar – PDOS then I can collect my travel documents after that. At last! I got my Travel Documents and went home. Because of my excitement, i felt hungry and pass by a Jollibee Restaurant, bought a large burger meal and took a bus going home. I didn’t go to work because I am excited.


I arrived home and same scenario, my family is having their dinner and my Dad asked me to join them and I did. When we finished our dinner, we are having a little talk and my Dad is saying I am being missing nowadays. And it is the right time tot ell them the truth. I told them I am sorry first and wish not to be mad for what I did. I handed over to my father the brown envelope containing my Passport, Visa and Ticket indicating that my flight is on October 25, 2010. ( my birthday is on October 26, 2010. the next day of my flight.) My father asked me what is it and I told him that it will be the start of my new life. When he opened the envelope, he is too surprised. My Mom starts to cry and says that I should not be doing it.


You are at the right age to decide to what you think is right. I will never stop you from doing things that you think is good for you and for your future. I will never stop you in chasing your own dreams of being successful someday..” – my father told me this and I start to cry, hugging them tight.

My father then asked me WHY I did it and where did I get the money for all of this. I told him that the agency I got doesn’t need for a placement fee to process my papers. I only pay for my requirements and for my medical. And to answer him why, I told him that I want to pay the 60,000 Pesos that my Mom owe to her sister. So my father admired me and hugged me because I told him the reason why. Why my Mom owe her sister a 60,000 pesos? Because my Mom has been hypnotized and took the money that she supposed to send to the bank in favor of my Auntie. So, for my Mom to pay Auntie Mholl, she borrowed money to my Auntie Anita but unfortunately, there must be an interest. Since we are not in a good state of living, my Mom can hardly pay her sister and my Auntie Anita sometimes humiliate my Mom because my Mom cannot pay her on time. So I decided to go abroad to help her so my Auntie Anita can never humiliate my Mom. Before living Philippines, I promised Auntie Anita that I will be paying the money in behalf of my Mom, so do not ask her or humiliate my Mom anymore. I will pay it even with interests. Thanks God, I paid it all.


October 25,2010 – Barangay Election Day in the Philippines and my uncle is a candidate. In the morning, I voted for my Uncle and in the night, Mom and Dad send me to the Airport. Good news! my uncle won the candidacy of a Barangay Captain! and I am leaving them for a while.


In the Airport, Departure Area – Gate 3 – waiting for my flight. My father called me. He said:

Happy Birthday son! I will greet you now because I might not be able to greet you later on as you will be in the airplane. I love you son. Do not cry. (I was crying). You are a fighter like me right? You are strong and I am sure you will be alright. Always remember that Mama and Papa are here for you. If you cannot continue there, let me know and I will send you money for ticket and come back home. I love you and always be safe..”

I honestly can’t talk to my Mom because my Mom is crying. Before I go inside the Airport, my brother crying on the floor and promised me that he will study hard for me and I must be always safe for them.


Goodbye for now Philippines, Hello Kuwait!


Now, I am in Kuwait for Seven years and counting. I may not be too successful like the others but still I am proud to say that I am supporting my family and providing them what they need.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page